top of page

I do, We do, You do Strategies for Effective Teaching


What does strategy "I do, We do, You do" means?

Informations taken from The Australian Society for Evidence Based Teaching website.

The I Do We Do You Do model is a simple and catchy way to convey the essence of explicit instruction.

Structure

I Do

The I Do phase of a lesson involves you telling students what they need to know and showing them how to do the things that they need to be able to do. Research confirms that this is a powerful part of an effective and efficient learning process. In more specific terms, it involves teaching strategies such as informing, explaining, modelling and providing examples.

We Do

WE Do is the second phase of the I Do WE Do YOU Do model. It involves doing tasks together. By working together, you can help students use the steps they need to follow to complete particular tasks such as adding common fractions, writing the letter m, or simplifying an equation. You can also help students to remember facts and understand broader concepts. For example, you can collectively create some class notes or fill in a graphic organiser as a class.

You Do

The You Do phase of a lesson involves students practicing what you have already taught them by themselves. Such practice helps students to retain what they have learnt and to become fluent with what they must be able to do. It also helps you to check their level of understanding and mastery. While students do the work themselves, it is important that you monitor their efforts and offer feedback along the way.

Why do we need this strategies?

The I Do WE Do YOU Do model helps us to understand the importance of explicitly teaching and supporting students before expecting them to complete a task on their own. It was popularised by educators such as Anita Archer, John Hollingsworth and John Fleming. In some cases, you may move through the I Do WE Do YOU Do phases within a single lesson. However, there will also be tasks that may span several lessons.

How does it work?

My video of using "I do, We Do, You Do", strategies in Art subject

Reflection

I started teaching the skills, by demonstrating. I expected that this part of the lesson will be short, but it took more time that I expected. As I demonstrated, I model my thinking by talking loud. Also, I planned my lesson carefully to make sure that students will be successful and they will achieve the goal of this lesson.

After I introduced the lesson and modeled how to give an Art Critique to a piece of art work, the students were excited to try and share their ideas. Working in the group the students interacted with each other. All students were involved and they really were interested with the subject. So, working in groups was good preparation for them to give to give great Art Criticism individually in the end of the lesson. I think, this class was successful and reached the goal that I planned in the beginning of the class.

References

URLhttp://lyonacademy.blogspot.com/2015/02/classroom-non-negotiable-focus.html

Article Title Lyon Academy Pre-K-8 :

Website Title Classroom Non-Negotiable Focus: Instruction Involves Input and Modeling

URL http://www.evidencebasedteaching.org.au/the-i-do-we-do-you-do-model-explained/

Article Title The Australian Society for Evidence Based Teaching

Website Title The I Do WE Do YOU Do Model Explained

URLhttp://strategiesforspecialinterventions.weebly.com/i-do-we-do-you-do.html

Article Title STRATEGIES

Website Title I do, We do, You do


bottom of page